Composed by
Ervin Nagy and Tamas Kreiner


Published by


1) The Solar System (Main Menu Theme)
2) Falling Stars
3) Space Walk into the Unkown
4) Mission to Mars (Intro Theme)
5) Discovery (Outro Theme)
6) Visions
7) The Ghost's Choir
8) Leaving the Solar System
9) Approaching the Enemy
10) The First Conflict (Battle Composition)
11) Satelit's Journey
12) Sorrowful Ceremony
13) The Flight of Icarus
14) Game Over Theme
15) Into Arms
16) Marching of the Legions of Iron (Battle Composition)
17) Dubious Alliance
18) Angels' Song
19) Painted Skies
20) Hidden Starmap
21) The 'Unknown' Solar System
22) War Dance (Battle Composition)


- Game website [offline]
- Composer website


No commercial release


Review by
Oliver Ittensohn

Haegemonia: Legions of Iron

Haegemonia: Legions of Iron is Digital Reality’s latest space faring strategy game. The player has to harvest resources, construct units and research new technologies in order to defeat its opponent. The game’s storyline is set in the year 2014. Humanity is engaged in a war between the inhabitants of Earth and the colonists of Mars. But when an alien force arrives from the depth of space to take over the solar system, humanity has to work together to survive.

Composers Ervin Nagy and Tamas Kreiner created an epic and tense score that works excellent within the game. The main menu music “The Solar System” sets the mood for the score. The soft and atmospheric strings and flutes along with delicate brass and percussion evoke visions of the infinity of space. It also introduces some thematic material that would later reappear in the score.

Haegemonia is primarily a building game which means that the player can spend virtually hours just researching technologies, building ships and founding colonies. The music cleverly stays in the background and becomes part of the overall soundscape as not to become repetitive too fast. Subdues strings and choir accompany these building phases. And yet, the score gives these phases an atmosphere and dramatic presence. “Space Walk” features eerie percussion and ethereal choir that let you wonder at the vastness of space while “Angel’s Song” combines choir and solo horns to a sad and climactic piece of music. Arguably one of the best ambient tracks is “Leaving the Solar System” though that builds incredible tension through its crescendo of strings and sparse use of piano.

Once conflict starts, the thunderous battle compositions kick in. They all feature fast-paced strings in combination with brass and choir and offer very rhythmic and memorable thematic material. Some of them feature a dance-like rhythm that underscores the fast spaceships’ movements around each other while they fight (“War Dance”). It gives sort of a “choreographic” aspect to the battles which shows the composers’ insight into how a score can add depth to a game situation. As with the ambient cues, the game makes excellent use of these battle tracks as well. Each battle piece is composed in different stages of intensity so that you get a bold and more epic version for the big battles and a more subdued version for small encounters. It just works amazingly well and makes sure the battle music always keeps up with what’s going on on-screen.

Two of the dramatic highlights of the score are “ Mission to Mars” and “Discovery” that accompany the intro and outro movie respectively. They combine the ambient with the battle compositions in a movie-like arrangement.

Sadly, there are technical shortcomings to the score. The whole score is completely done with synthesizers and at some points this is clearly audible. Especially certain brass and percussion passages would’ve benefited from a stronger sound-engine. Overall, the score sounds good though, especially when taking into account that it is about three years old.

All in all, Haegemonia is an engaging and tense score that excellently blends with the game; a score not to miss.